What questions should I ask a portable toilet provider?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

George Hill
    Participant

I’m planning to rent a number of portable toilets for the music festival that I’m organising. I’m thinking of placing them all over the venue since the festival might extend until midnight. I already found a provider of portable toilet hire services, but I don’t know what things I should ask them. This is my first time to hire portable toilets, so I have no idea what to do. Can you give me some tips? Any replies will surely be a big help for me. Thank you!

Paul
      Participant

Good day George,

Here is a list of things to consider when you sit with the operator you have chosen:

1 – How many people are expected?
        2 – How long is the event?
        3 – Will there be food?
        4 – Will there be alcohol?
        5 – If yes to alcohol will there be separate wet and dry areas?

From the above your operator will be able to gauge how many regular toilets, handicap toilets, and hand washing stations you will require based on your areas health and safety codes / regulations. This is important because some jurisdictions require these be met in order for you to get your liquor license or venue permits.

Some things to keep in mind during your discussions:

Frequency of cleanings – This based on the above number of units and a cost consideration for yourself. More units less cleaning or more cleanings and less units.

Accessibility to clean – If your operator can’t get their trucks to the units to clean during the event, then you better have enough to last the entire duration. if the event has 50,000 people wandering around and most are drunk, no operator is going to risk running over a person in a field.

Distance from F&B outlets – Jurisdiction regulations, again ask your operator they will know.